post

Book Review: Take This Cup

Books!Fans of Brock & Bodie Thoene books will not be disappointed in Take This Cup. In fact, those who’ve read their Zion Legacy or A.D. Chronicles series will love meeting several favorite characters from those books in this one as many come together to welcome Jesus into Jerusalem in anticipation of all He’ll do to rescue them as King of His Kingdom.

In this book, little Nehemiah, named for Nehemiah the cup bearer from the Old Testament, finds himself on a dangerous mission to deliver a priceless cup to Jesus of Nazareth, a man suspected to be Israel’s Messiah, come at last. As Nehemiah travels, he dreams of Joseph, Son of Jacob, who shows him events of Israel’s history related to the cup, to Nehemiah’s assignment, and to Jesus’ true mission and identity. Nehemiah makes fun friends and exciting discoveries all along the way, unaware through most of the book of the true significance of the cup.

My favorite element of the Thoene’s books set in Bible times is their on-going theme of everything meaning something and drawing this meaning out. They weave stories from the Old and New Testaments together, bringing historical events to life through the eyes of fictional witnesses like Nehemiah and biblical characters portrayed as they might have been. For readers who enjoy Christian historical fiction set in Bible times, it doesn’t get any better than this!

I loved reading this surprisingly unpredictable book. I loved that I got to read it just in time for Holy Week. I can’t wait for the next book in the series to be released! Thank you, Zondervan, for sending a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.

Connections:

Janet Benlien Reeves

Reader, Writer, Runner, Flower Hunter, Child of God, Prince Charming's Wife, Mom Prone to Cheer
Connections:

Latest posts by Janet Benlien Reeves (see all)